Program & Presentations Travel
Call for Papers Accomodations
Boston, Massachusetts, USA July 29-30, 2006

Point-Based Graphics 2006 - Call for Papers

Co-sponsored by Eurographics and the
IEEE-CS Visualization and Graphics Technical Committee (VGTC)
In Cooperation with ACM/SIGGRAPH

The drive for increasingly complex 3D geometric models, especially those scanned from the real-world, has brought about a growing interest in methods that build on point primitives. Following the highly successful 2004 and 2005 Symposia on Point-Based Graphics, the 3rd symposium of its series, PBG06, aims to further demonstrate the applicability of point-based methods in modeling, rendering, and simulation, and in a wide range of application domains. The PBG06 will take place in Boston, MA, July 29-30, 2006, and will be co-located with SIGGRAPH and the International Workshop on Volume Graphics. The best papers of PBG06 will additionally be published in a special issue of Computers & Graphics. We invite your original contributions in areas including, but not limited to, the following:

  • Data acquisition and surface reconstruction
  • Geometric modeling using point primitives
  • Sampling, approximation, and interpolation
  • Transmission and compression of point-sampled geometry
  • Rendering algorithms for point primitives
  • Geometry processing of point models
  • Topological properties of point clouds
  • Hardware architectures for point primitives
  • Animation and morphing of point-sampled geometry
  • Hybrid representations and algorithms
  • Use of point-based methods in real-world applications l

    Important Dates

    21 April 2006 Electronic abstract submission
    24 April 2006 Electronic paper submission (11.59 pm Pacific Time)
    2 June 2006 Author notification
    13 June 2006 Camera-ready copy


    Conference Chairs:
    Mark Pauly, ETH Zürich
    Matthias Zwicker, University of California at San Diego

    Papers Chairs:
    Mario Botsch, ETH Zürich
    Baoquan Chen, University of Minnesota at Twin Cities

    Papers Committee

    Marc Alexa Daniel Aliaga
    Kavita Bala Loic Barthe
    Frederic Cazals Daniel Cohen-Or
    Oliver Deussen Tamal Dey
    Philip Dutre David Ebert
    Issei Fujishiro Joachim Giesen
    Enrico Gobbetti Markus Gross
    Hans-Christian Hege Arie Kaufman
    Leif Kobbelt Anselmo Lastra
    Wojciech Matusik Nelson Max
    Torsten Moeller Klaus Mueller
    Matthias Mueller Renato Pajarola
    Hanspeter Pfister Voicu Popescu
    Werner Purgathofer Szymon M. Rusinkiewicz
    Dietmar Saupe Claudio Silva
    Oliver Staadt Marc Stamminger
    Alexandru Telea Matthias Teschner
    Amitabh Varshney Luiz Velho
    Michael Wand Ruediger Westermann
    Afra Zomorodian