Computer Graphics Laboratory ETH Zurich

ETH

Seminar 'Advanced Topics in Computer Graphics and Vision'
AS13

"; echo ""; echo " Date"; echo " Topic"; echo " Paper"; echo " Student"; echo " Supervisor"; echo ""; echo "
"; } /* function SeminarScheduleEntry($date, $studentName, $supervisorName, $title, $slidesUrl) { echo "$date"; echo "$studentName"; echo "$supervisorName"; echo "$title "; if($slidesUrl != "") echo " [Download]"; echo ""; echo ""; } */ function SeminarScheduleEntry($date, $topic, $area, $paper1, $student1, $supervisor1, $slidesUrl1, $paper2, $student2, $supervisor2, $slidesUrl2) { $topic = htmlentities($topic); //$student1 = htmlentities($student1); $supervisor1 = htmlentities($supervisor1); //$student2 = htmlentities($student2); $supervisor2 = htmlentities($supervisor2); $cellStyle = ""; if($area == "graphics") $cellStyle = "style='background-color: rgb(220, 235, 255);'"; else if($area == "vision") $cellStyle = "style='background-color: rgb(255, 255, 255);'"; else if($area == "noclass") $cellStyle = "style='background-color: rgb(255, 225, 220);'"; else if($area == "drz") $cellStyle = "style='background-color: rgb(204, 204, 204);'"; echo ""; $dateRowSpan = ""; if($student2 != "") $dateRowSpan = "rowspan='2'"; echo "$date"; echo "$topic"; echo "$paper1 "; /* if($slidesUrl1 != "") echo " [Download]"; */ echo ""; echo "$student1"; echo "$supervisor1"; echo ""; if($student2 != "") { echo ""; echo "$paper2 "; /*if($slidesUrl2 != "") echo " [Download]"; */ echo ""; echo "$student2"; echo "$supervisor2"; echo ""; } } function EndSeminarScheduleTable() { echo ""; } function ShowPaper($title, $author, $url) { $url = htmlentities($url); echo "

"; echo "$title
"; echo "$author"; echo "

"; } function ShowPaperShort($title, $url, $urlpdf, $image) { $url = htmlentities($url); echo "

"; if($url == "" || substr($url, 0, 4) == "http" || substr($url, 0, 8) == "download") { echo "

$title
"; if($url != "") { echo " [WWW] "; } echo "[pdf]
"; }else { echo "$title
($url)"; } echo "

"; } ?>

Course Topics

This seminar covers advanced topics in visual computing, including both seminal research papers as well as the latest research results. Topics include data-driven modeling and animation, image based rendering, real-time vision & graphics, physical simulation and generative models, visual perception, computational photography, video synthesis, and others.

Course Setup

Every participant has to present one of the papers in the list below. Additionally, you are required to read the paper that is presented in class beforehand and participate in a discussion during the seminar. An assistant will provide support when preparing the slides and in case technical questions arise.

Learning Objectives

The goal is to get an in-depth understanding of actual problems and research topics in the field of visual computing as well as improve presentations and critical analysis skills.

Prerequisites

The "Visual Computing", "Introduction to Computer Graphics" and "Computer Vision I" courses are recommended, but not mandatory.

Presence

Presence is mandatory to pass the seminar. If a student can not attend a seminar session, the reason (e.g. medical certificate) has to be given before the session and must be accepted by one of the organizers. More than three missed seminar sessions will cause the student to fail this class. The dates for the presentations can not be moved except there is someone willing to switch. The students participation in the group discussions will be documented by the organizers and contributes 25% to the final grade.

252-5701-00L"); AdminTableEntry("Organizers", "M. Pollefeys, M. Gross, O. Sorkine-Hornung, A. Jacobson"); AdminTableEntry("Location", RoomLink("HG E 33.3") . ", Thursday, 15-17"); AdminTableEntry("ECTS Credits", "2"); EndAdminTable(); ?>

slides","","",""); SeminarScheduleEntry("26-Sep","Example talk","","(slides + videos coming soon)","","",""); SeminarScheduleEntry("03-Oct","Style","noclass", "Handwriting Beautification Using Token Means","(no class)","Federico Perazzi","perazzif@inf.ethz.ch", "Stylizing Animation By Example" ," ","Antoine Milliez","antoine.milliez@gmail.com"); SeminarScheduleEntry("10-Oct","Optimization for Computer Vision","noclass", "Towards a Global Optimal Multi-Layer Stixel Representation of Dense 3D Data","(no class)","Christian Haene","chaene@inf.ethz.ch", "A Principled Deep Random Field Model for Image Segmentation"," ","Lubor Ladicky","lubor.ladicky@inf.ethz.ch"); SeminarScheduleEntry("17-Oct","Image processing","graphics", "Accurate Binary Image Selection from Inaccurate User Input","Simone Meyer","Henning Zimmer","henning.zimmer@disneyresearch.com", "Exposing Photo Manipulation with Inconsistent Shadows","Daniel Velasquez","Kaan Yucer","kaan.yucer@disneyresearch.com"); SeminarScheduleEntry("24-Oct","Machine Learning for Computer Vision","vision", "ImageNet Classification with Deep Convolutional Neural Networks","Julien Dumazert","Nikolay Savinov","nikolay.savinov@inf.ethz.ch", "Scene Coordinate Regression Forests for Camera Relocalization in RGB-D Images"," ","Bernhard Zeisl","zeislb@inf.ethz.ch"); SeminarScheduleEntry("31-Oct","3D reconstruction","Vision", "Rapid scene reconstruction on mobile phones from panoramic images","Alexandra Trif","Kalin Kolev","kalin.kolev@inf.ethz.ch", "The Episolar Constraint: Monocular Shape from Shadow Correspondence"," ","Aparna Taneja","aparna.taneja@inf.ethz.ch"); SeminarScheduleEntry("07-Nov","Surface reconstruction","vision", "Mirror Surface Reconstruction from a Single Image","Wai Kit Wu","Bastien Jacquet","bastien.jacquet@inf.ethz.ch", "Dense Variational Reconstruction of Non-Rigid Surfaces from Monocular Video"," ","Amael Delaunoy","amael.delaunoy@inf.ethz.ch"); SeminarScheduleEntry("14-Nov","Deformation","noclass", "Subspace Integration With Local Deformations","","Christian Schumacher","chschuma@inf.ethz.ch", "Geodesic Voxel Binding for Production Character Meshes"," ","Fabian Hahn","fabian.hahn@inf.ethz.ch"); SeminarScheduleEntry("21-Nov","Pose estimation","vision", "Computational Design of Actuated Deformable Characters"," ","Marios Papas","marios.papas@disneyresearch.com", "Articulated pose estimation with flexible mixtures-of-parts","Yijun Pan","Jens Puwein","puweinj@inf.ethz.ch"); SeminarScheduleEntry("28-Nov","Fabrication","graphics", "Make It Stand: Balancing Shapes for 3D Fabrication","Claudio Roethlisberger","Emily Whiting","emilyjwhiting@gmail.com", "Fast Articulated Motion Tracking using a Sums of Gaussians Body Model","Stephan Semmler","Luca Ballan","luca.ballan@inf.ethz.ch"); SeminarScheduleEntry("05-Dec","Repetitive patterns","noclass", "Seeing Double Without Confusion: Structure-from-Motion in Highly Ambiguous Scenes"," ","Andrea Cohen","andrea.cohen@inf.ethz.ch", "Visual Place Recognition with Repetitive Structures"," ","Olivier Saurer","saurero@inf.ethz.ch"); SeminarScheduleEntry("12-Dec","Potpourri","noclass", "Geodesics in Heat: A New Approach to Computing Distance Based on Heat Flow"," ","Daniele Panozzo","daniele.panozzo@inf.ethz.ch", "Parsing Sewing Patterns Into 3D Garments"," ","Marcel Lancelle","marcel.lancelle@inf.ethz.ch"); SeminarScheduleEntry("19-Dec","Geometry Processing","noclass", "Robust Inside-Outside Segmentation using Generalized Winding Numbers"," ","Romain Prevost","rprevost@student.ethz.ch", "Robust Fairing via Conformal Curvature Flow" ," ","Christian Schueller","schuellc@student.ethz.ch"); EndSeminarScheduleTable(); ?>